Good Reads

“We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves”

9780399162091_custom-3b254805204aac71d654307795bfdf0d5509b51a-s6-c30

Confession: I have never read the Jane Austen Book Club. To be honest, Karen Joy Fowler is a name I, regrettably, hadn’t heard until recently, when a friend turned me on to her latest offering, “We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves”. Her recommendation was curious and sparked more interest than even this glowing New York Times review would. She wrote, in emphatic, capital letters, to READ NOTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK, just read it, to the neglect of all else. Curiosity piqued, I made a Kindle purchase mere minutes later.

I will do you the same favor and will attach a link to the Gawker review (the New York Times reveals far too much!), though I implore you to read only the first paragraph and stop immediately. The plot was so surreptitiously clever, unwinding with both heartbreak and humor, I’m sure you will devour it whole and enjoy exploring in the dark just as I did.

xx, mg

Leave a Reply

