beauty

Basic Face

For someone who loves make-up, I have a pretty pared-down daily routine. Pared-down is, of course, relative, as this is certainly not moisturizer-and-out-the-door sort of beauty. But, overwrought is so dated. The key is to keep the look simple, dewy and fresh, so that even a last minute slick of red of the lips can be modern and casual. To that end, I find that a few well-placed products, with light to moderate coverage, can provide the best approximation of a naturally flawless face.

-13I start with a thin base of Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm in Light/Medium. This BB has more coverage than the average tinted moisturizer, but looks natural and provides an added SPF of 45 (though you should always include a sunscreen in your skincare regimen as well). Most importantly, this base doesn’t move; I wore it in the delivery room because it’s nearly indestructible. Currently, I’m loving the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla as an under-eye concealer, while the Cle de Peau concealer in Ivory is perfect for blemishes and sunspots. I apply the NARS concealer with my fingers, and Cle de Peau with a minute concealer brush by Kevyn Aucoin. Chanel’s light pink cream blush in 64 Inspiration, blended with the fingers, adds a healthy flush.

I set my base with an absolute gem of a holiday release, the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette (update: this palette is selling out everywhere, but it’s available for pre-order at Barneys!). I use all three colors: the mid-tone shade the set my whole face, the bronzey shade on the cheeks and temples, and the center, opalescent shade to highlight the high points of my face. I apply them all with a large, fluffy brush for sheer coverage. My brows get a bit of color with the Hourglass Arch Brow Sculpting Pencil  in Soft Brunette and are set with the Anastasia Clear Brow Gel.

Lately, I have been skipping eyeshadow in favor of a taupe-y, waterproof eyeliner pencil – Make Up For Ever Aqua Eyes in 24L – that looks like the faintest shadow on the upper and lower lash lines. Lashes are curled and receive a few thin coats of L’Oreal’s Telescopic Waterproof, one of the only mascaras that holds a curl in my lashes. A swipe of Chanel’s Glossimer in Seashell finishes the look.

Total time: 5 minutes or less. 10 if you’re doing it all before coffee.

xx, mg

Leave a Reply

