Fashion

The Uniform

I have a confession: when it comes to fashion, I am more Albert Einstein then Anna Wintour.

Like many in the health and science industry, I wear a uniform to work. I spend many of my waking hours in scrubs, sweaters, and a pair of Nikes with a hot red sole, which is the only color in my work wardrobe. The benefit is that I don’t have to budget for business suits and blouses. On the other hand, I don’t actually get to wear those business suits or blouses, a bummer for someone whose work bag is filled with more fashion mags than work…

After so many years, I have come to begrudgingly appreciate the utility of “the uniform”. It’s a true godsend when sleep is at a premium and I can’t tell you the number of times I have counted my lucky stars when I’ve gone from alarm to coffee to car in less than 20 minutes. While I still appreciate sartorial experimentation, the uniform has bled into my personal life as well. The money I save on business attire is invested in a few classic, staple pieces that make it easier to look polished when pressed for time, effort and imagination (more a necessity than luxury these days). A wardrobe of dark silks – even with kids, I promise – blue jeans, and casual sweaters, that are chic but comfortable, makes getting dressed just as easy as if I were reaching for a t-shirt and sweats (which I do, but those don’t have to be ugly, either).

Out and About

DayUniform11. Equipment | Signature Silk Blouse    2. Vince | Chevron Turtleneck   3. Rag and Bone/Jean | Distressed Skinny Jeans in Kensington Wash    4. Rag & Bone | Newbury Boots (the most comfortable boot you will ever own!)

Lounging Around

LoungeUniform

1. J.Crew | | Kiss Kiss Tee     2. Vince | Sweater Jacket (Mine is two seasons old, but check out this sale at Vince.com)     3. Glamorous | Bret Soft Pant

Psst… I never pay full price for anything. Bloomingdale’s is running their annual Friends and Family event until November 17th and code FANDF will get you 20% off of most of these great pieces, or anything else that strikes your fancy.

xx, mg

Leave a Reply

