Food

Giving Thanks

Thanksgiving is, by far, my favorite holiday. While I love the communion with my family, I will shamelessly admit that my real love is the food. Stuffing is my kryptonite.

My family has been making this chestnut stuffing since my Nana came to the United States from England 59 years ago. Chestnuts make the stuffing nothing short of spectacular, but they’re trouble and shelling them is a chore. If you have a chestnut scorer, you’ll make quick work of a pound of chestnuts. If not, prepare yourself for a little discomfort. But, it’s worth it, I promise you.

All my best for a wonderful holiday for you and yours.

Chestnut Stuffing
For 16.00 pound bird:

1 lb chestnuts
1 lb sausage meat
1/4 cup minced onion
2 tbs butter
1 cup hot water
2 tsp dried sage
1 tsp salt (optional)
1/4 tsp pepper
4 cups stuffing

1) Wash the chestnuts.
2) Using a paring knife, make an X-shaped slit through the shell on both sides of each chestnut.
3) Arrange the chestnuts on a baking sheet and bake in a 500 degree F oven for 15 minutes.
4) Remove the chestnuts from the oven and remove shells and skins (this is easier to do when hot).
5) Boil the chestnuts in water (2.00″ above nuts) for 20 minutes.
6) Drain and discard water, then chop the chestnuts medium fine.
7) Sauté the sausage and onion in butter for 10 minutes until cooked.
8) Add the hot water, sage, salt + pepper.
9) Add chestnuts and breadcrumbs. 10) Mix well and refrigerate.

xx, mg

Leave a Reply

