beauty

Winter Skin Saviors

We have 4″ of newly fallen snow and it’s a whopping 6 degrees outside – what better day to consider some cold weather skin savers?

DSC_0428

Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm
Balms are my go-to for winter weather cleansing; they’re moisturizing and don’t leave my skin feeling dry or stripped. I’ve tried a number of different brands at different price points, including EVE LOM and Emma Hardie, and both leave something to be desired. The Clinique Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm was a low cost alternative that didn’t require international shipping, so I picked it up on a recent Sephora trip. And surprise… it’s really good. It’s a thick, waxy balm but it spreads easily with the heat of your hands. You can use a washcloth to remove, but it turns into a milky cream with water and you can rinse it off. I cleanse once with this balm, rinse with water and then cleanse again with a washcloth using Sunday Riley Charisma Creme Cleanser.

Sara Happ Lip Scrub
My lips hate cold weather. To avoid flakes, I apply a small amount of Sara Happ Lip Scrub to my top and bottom lips after cleansing, then purse and scrub away. The scrub is gritty but grapeseed oil makes it moisturizing and adds slip. You can wipe it off with a tissue, but I rinse and pat dry.

Kate Somerville Quench Oil Free Hydrating Face Serum
This is one of those products you won’t appreciate until you don’t use it and your skin feels different, duller. It functions as a hydration booster, magnifying the benefits of your moisturizer. I use the oil free version because it doesn’t contain Retinol, but I find that it’s plenty powerful. I’m on my third bottle and already planning on a fourth.

ReVive Moisturizing Renewal Cream
I received a few samples of the iconic cream earlier in the year and fell absolutely in love with the way it made my skin feel. I splurged when I was feeling particularly spendy (and before the price hike, yikes) and use it for the occasional pick-me-up in rotation with my Origins A Perfect World moisturizer. Grandiose claims aside, it’s a simple glycolic moisturizer with 4.5% glycolic acid, providing skin resurfacing and hydration benefits. Cane + Austin do a similar one, which is on my radar.

Origins Drink Up 10 Minute Mask
This mask is a staple of my routine and is used at least twice a week. I generally apply it after a glycolic mask, then lightly tissue off the excess and blend after 10 minutes. The mask is white but blends in completely, so it’s even safe for day use and long flights.

Jo Malone Red Roses Bath Oil
There is nothing better than a long hot bath, especially after a cold day (even better after a cold day on the slopes). Add a few capfuls of Jo Malone’s bath oil, light a Diptyque candle, and you’re on a fast track to heaven.

Kiehl’s Creme de Corps
I was never keen on body lotion because I couldn’t stand the smell. It always seemed a poor excuse for perfume and was often cloyingly sweet or lingered too long on the skin. Creme de Corps checks all the boxes, as it’s not perfumed and is intensely moisturizing. I apply it right out of the bath while still a bit damp and find that it works wonders without ruining my perfumes.

Any winter must haves? Please share!

xx, mg

Leave a Reply

